UK Travel Awards


The Trust makes two awards to individuals to visit the UK for short periods for study, research, attendance at conferences, the exchange of ideas or collaborations with colleagues in the United Kingdom.


The awards are open to citizens of India who are established scholars or professionals working in museums, galleries, universities or other specified institutions concerned with the preservation, study and display of India's art and cultural heritage.

Duration and timing

These awards are intended for short visits of between a week and a month and must be taken up the financial year immediately subsequent to the award (from April 1st to March 31st of the subsequent year).

Funds available

The awards, which are of a maximum of £1,000, are intended to be held in conjunction with awards from other bodies as a part-cost contribution towards maintenance and/or air fare from and to India.

UK institutional affiliation

Candidates must demonstrate that they have established communication with any institution, organisation or individual relevant to their application and that they will be able to gain access to relevant research materials, or have been invited to a conference or meetings with colleagues or collaborators.

Final report

At the conclusion of their visit, Travel Award holders must submit a report of their visit to the Trustees.

How to apply
Application Form:

All applicants should send their completed submission to the address below, to be received no later than 15 February.

Application forms and Referees' forms are available online below or from:

The Secretary
Nehru Trust for the Indian Collections at the Victoria & Albert Museum
The School of Arts and Aesthetics

SAA Building II
Jawaharlal Nehru University
New Delhi - 110067 



The closing date for all applications each year is 15 February.

The selection panel meets in late March.

Successful candidates will be notified as soon as possible after the Trustees' meeting in late March.

Awards are tenable from 1 April of that year to 31 March of the following year.